The Painted Chair…

Don’t think I ever commented on the finished product?! After 3 days and 3 coats of paint (24 hour dry time in between each coat) I finally felt I could move on to painting the frame of the chair.

image

I had painted the entire chair, upholstery and frame, using Country Grey.  Once I was satisfied with the saturation level of the upholstery, I moved to focusing on the frame. For that I chose French Linen. I really wanted a very relaxed neutral tone for the piece as it would be going in my bedroom. I had already finished the pillow and thought the chair could draw its colour and balance from that, but also could be a subtle, quiet piece on its own as well. image image image image image

image

For the the pillow I used some outdoor upholstery fabric I had on hand and made an envelope style pillow. No zipper. No closing seam. Very easy and looks finished. I did then sew three heart buttons on that I bought last summer whilst at Annie Sloan’s shoppe in Oxford. I think it all adds just the right amount of contrast and balance to the very neutral chair.

Heres The final product. Distressed a bit with 100 grit sandpaper and coated over the frame with clear wax. The upholstery was solid enough on its own so I saw no need to wax it to give it what I felt would have been a “rougher” look and feel.

What do you think? Not bad for $10.00!

❤️

Jill

Leave a Reply

